Thread: AMD going up?

1. Default AMD going up?

I'm no expert, but let's just look at the basics. AMD has a current P/E ratio of 256, while Intel, it's main competetor, has a P/E of 19. The forward P/E for AMD is 64, meaning that if you factor in analysts expectations for growth over the next 12 months, there is still a very high P/E compared to Intel. (Intel's forward P/E is 18 ). EPS are 0.10 vs. 1.34 for AMD and Intel, respectively. Intel gives a dividend of 0.32 per share, while AMD has none.

2. Default

So, you are right in that the analysts numbers seem to indicate that indeed AMD will continue to grow and cut into Intel's market share, as evidenced by the fact that the forward P/E is much lower than the current P/E (while the forward P/E of Intel is unchanged). However, the ratio is so high that you have to think that this has already been factored into the current stock price.

3. Default

Is that to say that AMD won't go up more? Of course, no one can predict. And in fact there are intangibles that Cramer talks about in his book that may lead you to have more confidence in this stock than the numbers indicate. But for me, that P/E means there isn't likely a lot of room on the upside for this stock, at least in the near future.

Just my $0.02. Anyone else have a different take?

4. Default

You are absolutely right, but I think in the short term the buzz factor of chip makers being at capacity may make you a buck or two. In fact both are up about 2% today. But in the medium term, I totally agree with you. In the long term, both companies will increase production capabilities, but who knows where demand will be at that point.

5. Default